BFF Alber Elbaz of Lanvin to replace Karl Lagerfeld at Chanel

March 15, 2010 § Leave a comment

Is Chanel in talks to find a replacement for Karl Lagerfeld? It is rumored that Lagerfeld didn’t renew his contract at Chanel last summer, and those rumors resurfaced during Paris Fashion Week. What? No more Baptiste? Tommy Ton – from the street-style blog Jak& Jil – delivered this cryptic tweet at PFW: “I received some news tonight that is going to SHAKE the fashion world in the next two days. CRAZY!!!! …I can’t tell. I swore I’d zip the lip but I’ll tell you my mouth nearly dropped to the ground when the news was whispered into my ear.”

The announcement is expected “very, very soon,” but the word on the street is that Alber will replace Karl at Chanel. If you ask me, I don’t think this is the most earth shattering of news. It’s hard to imagine anybody replacing Lagerfeld at Chanel because, well, he’s been there for 150 billion years. While Lanvin does do beautiful work, Alber is less of a celebrity designer than Karl is, so it makes me wonder if the House is going in a new direction?

More earth shattering would be if Lady Gaga were named as Creative Director of Alexander McQueen. Now THAT would be news.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading BFF Alber Elbaz of Lanvin to replace Karl Lagerfeld at Chanel at MADISON MOORE.

meta

